The Once and Legendary…

March 12, 2009

Note: There’s something I need to explain before you read this so you can begin to understand what is going on. As a writer, as much as someone like me is or ever will be a writer, I very rarely create my characters. In fact, more often then not I don’t really create any of it. Things just show up there. I mean I have put things there, but I can always tell when re reading my works that I put it there. If any of my work is decent it shows up there all on it’s own. I will watch a character walk into something, I will see how he reacts, and where he goes next and I will write this down. I know this sounds ridiculous but for me to say that I thought out every inch of everything good I’ve ever written, would be a complete and utter lie. (moo).

There something else interesting that has come along with this, and if the last part made you think I was a little crazy, this next part will definitely bring you to call the men from the padded house… I occasionally converse with these characters. I have conversations with them and I don’t really have any control over what they’re going to say… I just… write down what they’re telling me.

I know it sounds silly so I’m going to stop explaining it at risk of bringing myself to call the happy house and just post this conversation that I had with one of my oldest characters. Keep in mind that he and I have some understandings, we know what the subject is so we don’t have to explain it but that goes along with little things as well. He knows what I mean when I talk about “but that almost always works out for the better” and the like because most times I don’t have to explain it to him.

Also for readability’s sake I’ve bolded him… Not that he would normally do that… He doesn’t shout.

 

I never thought I’d see you here.

You had to know I’d come. You wrote the motto.

I did, but I had not thought it would bring you from beyond the veil.

Well you helped. You couldn’t possibly expect that in the process of re-writing me I wouldn’t sneak into your head again.

…I’m lost.

This is new for you.

Yes.

Your workings are generally simple, a machine of hopeless romantics and ideals, and pragmatism.

I know.

You’ve never had trouble consulting this before, what seems to be the problem now?

There’s something else there.

The heart.

Exactly.

It’s a puzzle to be sure.

On the one hand I have the simple engine that tells me exactly what I should do and why. It has very rarely misguided and even then that almost always works out for the better.

Because of the hidden gear.

Ka.

Ka.

But then there’s this other thing that has begun to whisper. Partially honor, but I think even that is involved in this well of emotion.

You cannot be guided by emotion-

I know that.

-it would undoubtedly lead to-

Hey! I know, alright?

Then why are we here?

Because it’s not as simple as all that.

How so?

You leaped to save a little girl from plummeting to her doom. Your engine is just as simple as mine and it would have told you that had the girl died, while tragic, it would have solved a lot of immediate problems. And it wasn’t even the hidden gear that told you to jump either… it was emotion.

It was.

Why are you here?

Because you called for me.

Yes well… Normally you have answers for me.

In this case I think the answer is the question.

… Explain.

The question is which engine do you consult? That simple hopeless romantic/pragmatic box that normally runs you? The emotional box that brings us to do great, and sometimes terrible things?

I suppose you’re-

Or.

Or?

Or, do you wait for an answer from the hidden gear?

… What if it’s an answer I don’t like?

Does that matter?

You know when that hidden gear turns, you can tell when it’s the thing that brings about your answers from your simple machine. Be patient. Have faith. Wait for it’s gears to turn. And when you have your answer thank that gear and go about it’s work.

… Thank you.

Leave a Reply

